The National Curriculum

  1. Home
  2. The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum

From September 2014 all primary schools will be following a new National Curriculum in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. With the exception of Year 2 and Year 6, where we will continue to follow the 2013 curriculum because statutory assessments and tests are carried out at the end of these years, teachers will plan learning from new programmes of study.

Which subjects will my child learn?

We teach using a ‘topic based’ approach so that pupils have a context through which to develop and apply their skills, knowledge and understanding. However, all pupils will be taught each subject of the National Curriculum, either through their topic or as a separate lesson if this is more appropriate:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Modern Foreign Language
  • Music
  • Physical Education